top of page

2020 Can't Come Soon Enough

I have no words. I am completely heartbroken, devastated, empty. There is a void where my vocal box used to be. Instead of air, I inhale desperation.

I feel as though a heavy weight has been injected into the atmosphere. Oxygen’s density is now a whopping 1 million gallons per liter. At the same time, I could float away. I’m invisible and I hold no more weight or meaning than a speck of dust.

How could we do this? How could we make such a horrific blunder that would lead to a “President-elect Trump?”

I never thought I would cry for my country. I never considered myself a full-blown patriot. Today and for the next days, weeks, months, years, I will cry for a nation that, once, was great. November 8, for me, will forever mark a dark day in our nation’s history. Guys, this feels REEEALLY personal.

I have a few thoughts (as many of you may have guessed).

One: WHAT THE F*$K?!

Two: WHAT THE F%%K?!

Three: Ok, breathe.

Four: WHAT THE ACTUAL F(*K?!

Five: Is this what a reality check feels like? Ladies and gentlemen, I think it is.

It’s a sad truth that we face today. Half of the United States of America believes that a Donald Trump America is a preferable choice to that of Hillary Clinton. It is a realization we all must come to terms with. This is the democracy that we praise around the globe. I respect the ideals of protest and revolution but, unfortunately, I do believe that they may be misplaced in this situation. We may be ANGRY AND FRUSTRATED AND SO F*(*KING SAD but, today, we must learn to accept that so many of our country men and women have been feeling exactly this way for the past 8+ years. So many people have felt voiceless and overwhelmed with disillusionment. We, in our own bubbles must learn to listen and sympathize with those who have spoken and who have let their voices and votes be heard. We are not the enemy, nor are they, nor is F̶ü̶h̶r̶e̶r̶ President Trump.

It is my opinion that we have elected a fascist, racist, sexist, narcissistic, psychotic, unworthy individual as president. My opinion is important as is the opinion of someone who considers Donald Trump to be the Messiah, reborn in Billionaire form. We must learn to respect each other’s opinions with a little bit of humor. (Am I laughing or crying?)

My heart breaks. This is worse than any breakup or heartache I have ever felt. I am being pushed out of the innocence and naivety I have been privileged to know. I have always been proud of my country (not of everything but in general). Today, I am realizing deep and horrible shame. I want to hide my head and sleep for four years. But I won’t. I’ll return to the states and continue to do my part. I will support the movements I care about. I will continue to volunteer. I will love and support my family and my friends. I will argue with those that disagree with me and do my best to be considerate. I hope to make my parents proud. I hope to make those I share opinions and those I do not share opinions with feel safe and comfortable to talk to me. Let’s go high when they go low, right guys?

For all my friends who come from different places, for all of you that do not fit what a Donald-Trump-America may look like, for all of you who are afraid, we will get through this together. We will grit our teeth and fight against injustices as we always have, in our own ways. We may not feel inspired on a week such as this but, guys, we have to be active, and stay hopeful. This is not us against them; this is us against oppressive systems. This is us against racism, sexism, fascism, populism etc. Be kind to each other, no matter who you voted for, please.

It is going to be a long four years, guys. Let’s stick together, shall we?

Sending all my love,

This Nasty Woman


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page